Author Topic: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?  (Read 4629 times)

Offline RexxJ

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« on: February 11, 2012, 03:36:50 pm »
When there's a power loss or other reset, my foscam 8910s go to their native home position, which is usually pointing at the ceiling.  Is there a way to make BI ensure that they stay default to a preset? 

If I have p/t setup, I assume this would correct it?  But if I don't, is there an easy way to make sure they are always at #1?

thanks.

Offline reddawg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 01:28:47 am »
Not from BlueIris. You can tell an PTZ camera to goto a Preset position at a scheduled time in BlueIris, but not after a power loss or network reset. This would need to be controlled by BlueIris' Watchdog. This would be a great feature to add to Blue Iris.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2012, 06:23:54 am by reddawg »
OS: Windows 7 x64bit SP1, Blue Iris v3.49.06
PC: Dell Vostro 260, Intel Core i5-2400 Quad Core @ 3.10GHz, 8GB Memory, 500GB SATA HD
Cams: Dahua IPC-HFW2100 1280x960@10fps, Gadspot GS1600 640x480@15fps, Loftek Specter 640x480@10fps, Edimax IC-3030iWn 1280x1024@10fps

Offline derek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2012, 06:22:32 pm »
RexxJ,

I have a pair of Foscam 8918 cams that have that behavior too.  I don't know if this is directly applicable to your model, but for me, the solution was have "disable preset" enabled and "Go center on boot" disabled (see attached image).  These are settings on the Foscam PTZ Settings management page, not BI.  After setting these options, my cam no longer returns to center on reboots.  Hope this works for you!

Derek


Offline reddawg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 07:56:07 am »
I looked in the manual for the Foscam 8910 and it states if you enable "Disable Preset", this disables the ability to set or goto a Preset position with your camera. I believe you only need to unselect "Go Center on Boot".

This has become big topic on the foscam.us formus because these cameras seem to reboot a lot, which forces them into a patrol mode and then to a center position. I held off from buying a few of the Foscam's 8910W's because they seem to have stability issues when on wireless and reboot a lot. I have read a few postings on foscam.us forums that suggest you may need to do as RexxJ suggested. A lot of the manuals for these chinese cameras contain a lot of errors from cut and paste, so I would not be surprise if RexxJ is correct.

I purchased a Loftek Specter PTZ camera (640x480@15fps, 16 IR Leds, IR Cut Filter, 3.6mm lens) and have been very pleased with it for now. The wireless has been very stable, has true colors and it doesn't reboot on its own.

In general, I think a lot of the reboot issues can be reduced by plugging your Foscam 8910W camera into a good surge protector. If I didn't know better, I would swear that the Loftek and Foscam cameras are made by the same manufacturer, but just have slightly different firmwares loaded. I can specify what preset position number I want my camera to goto upon a reboot or select none. It still goes through a patrol mode, but then goes to Preset position I set.
OS: Windows 7 x64bit SP1, Blue Iris v3.49.06
PC: Dell Vostro 260, Intel Core i5-2400 Quad Core @ 3.10GHz, 8GB Memory, 500GB SATA HD
Cams: Dahua IPC-HFW2100 1280x960@10fps, Gadspot GS1600 640x480@15fps, Loftek Specter 640x480@10fps, Edimax IC-3030iWn 1280x1024@10fps

Offline pomonabill221

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1285
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2012, 08:05:52 am »
I have a couple of the 8918's wired and I get occasional reboots also.  Don't know if it is power supply problems, or the constant streaming that causes the camera to choke and reboot, but it is a common problem.
Will look at the Lofteks though!  What frame rate are you getting with the Lofteks?  (my most favorite question now!)
Asus M4A88TD-v evo/usb3 running AMD quad 3.6G with 4 gig ram, 500g drive, 2 Foscam FI8918 wired, 2 foSCAM 8905 wired, 1 Trendnet IP (something), ProCurve 1800-24G managed switch (free), Win7 64 bit as of 6/28/2013

Offline reddawg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2012, 08:44:35 am »
I'm getting about 10-12fps reported from BlueIris at 640x480 on wireless. Its rated for 15fps at VGA resolution, so that's not too bad. I am very satisfied with the Loftek Specter, which is a newer generation model than Loftek CSX2200. I will say that the Loftek support is not the best. They are slow to answer questions.

What I discovered is that these type of cameras assign the same IP address to both the wireless and ethernet interfaces, which is why they are never both enabled at the same time. If I disable my wireless, my Loftek Specter will reboot and enable the ethernet interface if it is connected. So, I think that the many reported reboot problems are caused when camera loses its wireless connection, which causes their camera to reboot to try to use the ethernet interface.

When Foscam fixes the wireless issues on the 8910W's, I might get a few.
OS: Windows 7 x64bit SP1, Blue Iris v3.49.06
PC: Dell Vostro 260, Intel Core i5-2400 Quad Core @ 3.10GHz, 8GB Memory, 500GB SATA HD
Cams: Dahua IPC-HFW2100 1280x960@10fps, Gadspot GS1600 640x480@15fps, Loftek Specter 640x480@10fps, Edimax IC-3030iWn 1280x1024@10fps

Offline pomonabill221

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1285
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2012, 08:51:19 am »
Thanks for the info reddawg!
All my cams are wired though.  The foscams struggle to get anything over 6 fps, and even then, BI status watchdog resets on occasion.
I tried a Trendnet TV-IP110 camera and I can get 15 fps all day (wired), so something is strange with the Foscams.
I am thinking (hoping) that foscam improved their network problem with the 8910's.  What are you getting with the 8910's?  Are they giving you 10-12 fps? or just the Loftek?
Asus M4A88TD-v evo/usb3 running AMD quad 3.6G with 4 gig ram, 500g drive, 2 Foscam FI8918 wired, 2 foSCAM 8905 wired, 1 Trendnet IP (something), ProCurve 1800-24G managed switch (free), Win7 64 bit as of 6/28/2013

Offline reddawg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2012, 10:44:39 am »
I had a Foscam Fi8918W, but returned it because I was getting only 6fps and after a while only 1-2fps. I am hesitant on buying any Foscam 8910W cameras until I see that they have addressed the wireless issues (low fps, wifi disconnects, reboots). I was told on the foscam.us forums that the 8910W is basically the same camera as the 8918W with a nicer shell and IR Cut filter.

In addition to the Loftek Specter PTZ, I have a Gadspot  GS1600 IP camera, which has sharp crisp video at 640x480@30 fps and sees well in low light (no IR though).  The Loftek Specter quality is not bad for a low cost PTZ camera ($89 at Amazon from Loftek) with IR and IR cut filter.

I am looking for a higher quality 640x480 to 1MP Bullet cam for outdoors that has a 6mm lens and can see 30M in the dark and a possible a few more PTZ indoor cameras.
OS: Windows 7 x64bit SP1, Blue Iris v3.49.06
PC: Dell Vostro 260, Intel Core i5-2400 Quad Core @ 3.10GHz, 8GB Memory, 500GB SATA HD
Cams: Dahua IPC-HFW2100 1280x960@10fps, Gadspot GS1600 640x480@15fps, Loftek Specter 640x480@10fps, Edimax IC-3030iWn 1280x1024@10fps

Offline pomonabill221

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1285
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2012, 09:57:59 pm »
WOOPS..... sorry, I thought you HAD a 8910.... you just looked at the manual?
89 for the Loftek?!?!?!  THAT is what I am going to try going by what you have found!!!!
Thanks for your info!
Asus M4A88TD-v evo/usb3 running AMD quad 3.6G with 4 gig ram, 500g drive, 2 Foscam FI8918 wired, 2 foSCAM 8905 wired, 1 Trendnet IP (something), ProCurve 1800-24G managed switch (free), Win7 64 bit as of 6/28/2013

Offline bottman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2012, 05:14:26 pm »
Got the same problem on my Zmodo (foscam clone). After reset/reboot, it parks itself dead center despite what settings or home preset I have set. Just chalked it up to "I got what I paid for!"

Offline RexxJ

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: return to preset p/t after power loss for foscam 8910?
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2012, 01:00:27 pm »
Thanks.  Go to center  is disabled, but I still occasionally (once every few days) notice it pointing at the floor.

This 8910 is basically fixed view.  I guess I could set a couple of presets to the same view and set a p/t schedule on those.  That should ensure it is always going back to the same spot.

 

Mobile Theme