Author Topic: Processor at 100%  (Read 1009 times)

Offline BoBrooks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Processor at 100%
« on: September 20, 2012, 09:09:42 pm »
I have 18 cameras on my PC and in task manager it says that Blueiris is using 100% of the processor. The PC is a Dell workstation with 4 gigs of ram and a 2.4 GHz Xeon processor and I am running Windows XP Professional service pack 3. Is this normal? Can anyone give me any tips that might help?

Offline pomonabill221

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1335
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2012, 04:34:35 am »
What frame rate are you running?
What pre record frames to you have the cameras set to? (pre trigger frames).
What make/model cameras are they?
What is the resolution of the cameras?
Asus M4A88TD-v evo/usb3 running AMD quad 3.6G with 4 gig ram, 500g drive, 2 Foscam FI8918 wired, 2 foSCAM 8905 wired, 1 Trendnet IP (something), ProCurve 1800-24G managed switch (free), Win7 64 bit as of 6/28/2013

Offline BoBrooks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 08:56:06 pm »
The frame rate is 7.5 in BI and 10 in the camera itself., Not sure what you mean by pretrigger frames but assume it has to do with motion detection and am not using motion detection just continous recording, The cameras are all Foscam F18918W PTZ cameras running on a wired network. The resolution 640  x 480. The PC has a gigabit connection and is only using 7%. I changed the encoder to Xvid but that didn't seem to help either. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Offline MaxIcon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2012, 09:32:19 pm »
Lower FPS always helps, and I found that full-time recording bumped CPU usage almost as much as motion detect.  If you're connected to BI with other PCs to monitor over a browser, that adds considerable CPU load as well.  I saw a little difference on my system when I changed the encoder to Xvid, but it was higher CPU usage, not lower.

Here's what I'd do to figure out where your performance limit is:

- Disable all the cameras, and note the CPU usage.
- Enable them one by one, and note the change in CPU for each.  I like to leave 10% free CPU minimum to avoid bogging down the system.

It's possible that one camera's causing more load than others, and this will let you know how many your current box will support, and how much more CPU power you might need.

You can also look at the bit rate for all the cams on your stats screen to see if any are doing anything weird, and this will show any clients connected as well.

Offline pomonabill221

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1335
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2012, 09:45:20 pm »
Depending on the version of BI, you can limit the frame rate under camera properties/video/configure.  there is a check box to limit framerate.  I find that I can reliably use 7.5 fps on my foscam 8918 (old versions) AND limit framerate.
Even though you are not using motion detect, the "when motion sensor is triggered, include XX pre trigger frames" may still be in effect.  Since you are continuously recording as well, this may result in double recording (don't know though), but continuous recording is STILL much more CPU intensive as it is processing the video all the time.
Give MaxIcon's tests a try and see if one of your cameras is hogging your CPU.
There are calculators around that will show you what your cpu needs are for the frame rate that you want to run as well.  These will give you an idea of what to expect for cpu load.
Asus M4A88TD-v evo/usb3 running AMD quad 3.6G with 4 gig ram, 500g drive, 2 Foscam FI8918 wired, 2 foSCAM 8905 wired, 1 Trendnet IP (something), ProCurve 1800-24G managed switch (free), Win7 64 bit as of 6/28/2013

Cam It!

Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2012, 09:45:20 pm »
    Advertisement


Offline BoBrooks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2012, 01:47:07 am »
The processor is an E5530. The benchmark is 4700.

Offline BoBrooks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2012, 03:37:26 am »
Thanks for all the replies guys, It is very much appreciated.

Offline pomonabill221

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1335
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Processor at 100%
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2012, 05:30:36 am »
You are welcome!
Hope you find a solution and a happy medium with camera settings that makes your processor happy.
Asus M4A88TD-v evo/usb3 running AMD quad 3.6G with 4 gig ram, 500g drive, 2 Foscam FI8918 wired, 2 foSCAM 8905 wired, 1 Trendnet IP (something), ProCurve 1800-24G managed switch (free), Win7 64 bit as of 6/28/2013

 


Mobile Theme