Author Topic: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...  (Read 42805 times)

Offline N6VMO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« on: January 15, 2013, 04:15:43 am »
OK, my Dahua HDW210 cameras arrived today.  One needed to be reset before it would respond to a ping of its default IP.

Both cameras now ping and I can log into them, but I still get the UI with the camera icon and no video. I followed the instructions in the manual to lower my security  and Active X settings. Still no go.

A search of 'Active X' shows users still having problems.  I am running Windows 7 64bit, IE V9 and FireFox 3.6.15.  IE prompts me to download webrec.cab, I get the hour glass icon, then nothing.
No video.

I don't quite understand this Active X stuff. Do I need to download and install Active X from somewhere. What is the is webrec.cab stuff?
It appears webrec.cab is on the cameras since the system is looking at the cameras IP address for it.

Very frustrating evening to say the least.

Last weekwe received two of these cameras for a customer's project at work. We were able to get one desktop to work but another didn't.
Maybe that was a sign. As of right now, our customer can't get these two cameras to play, no video.

Help...
« Last Edit: January 15, 2013, 04:20:40 am by N6VMO »
2 x ESC-HFW2100 1.3MP - 720p and 2 x Swann 2MP OUTDOOR Bullet IP PoE Cameras.
Cisco Catalyst Express 520-8pc-K9 PoE Switch.  Blue Iris Video Security and Webcam Software. HP ENVY H8-1534 Desktop, AMD FX-6200 Hexa-Core 3.8GHz, 10GB DDR3, 1.5TB SATA. Tripp-Lite Smart1500LCD UPS.

Stickman

  • Guest
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 01:36:35 pm »
If you get into IP cams you will soon learn all about activex.....they almost all use this in their web UI. You MUST use IE to make this work....forget any other browser. Also you MUST use IE 32bit browser...I have yet to get it to work in a 64 bit browser. Try that and see if it works then....we will go from there.

Stickman

  • Guest
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2013, 01:49:53 pm »
Also check these to see if they look like yours  IE/tools/manage addons


Offline N6VMO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 03:16:17 pm »
Also you MUST use IE 32bit browser...I have yet to get it to work in a 64 bit browser. Try that and see if it works then....we will go from there.

Thanks....
That explains why my laptop works, it is using IE 32bit.  OK, we'll take one step at a time....
2 x ESC-HFW2100 1.3MP - 720p and 2 x Swann 2MP OUTDOOR Bullet IP PoE Cameras.
Cisco Catalyst Express 520-8pc-K9 PoE Switch.  Blue Iris Video Security and Webcam Software. HP ENVY H8-1534 Desktop, AMD FX-6200 Hexa-Core 3.8GHz, 10GB DDR3, 1.5TB SATA. Tripp-Lite Smart1500LCD UPS.

Offline N6VMO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2013, 03:21:45 pm »
Also check these to see if they look like yours  IE/tools/manage addons




Looks like I will need to download a 32bit version of IE onto my desktop and I will check these IE settings this evening.
Thanks again...
2 x ESC-HFW2100 1.3MP - 720p and 2 x Swann 2MP OUTDOOR Bullet IP PoE Cameras.
Cisco Catalyst Express 520-8pc-K9 PoE Switch.  Blue Iris Video Security and Webcam Software. HP ENVY H8-1534 Desktop, AMD FX-6200 Hexa-Core 3.8GHz, 10GB DDR3, 1.5TB SATA. Tripp-Lite Smart1500LCD UPS.

Stickman

  • Guest
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2013, 03:39:36 pm »
your W7 should have the 32 bit IE9 installed by default....you just have to start it from the start menu.

Offline Promod117

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2013, 05:26:07 pm »
Is IE 32bit by default?  I too will have to see what version I have, when I get home.  I know I'm running a 64bit version of Windows.

Thanks!

Stickman

  • Guest
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2013, 05:48:38 pm »
I believe so...I do not run a 64 bit OS to check...maybe someone else will confirm this. I do know the 64bit IE has a lot of issues with it working on all sites etc.....and activex  ;D

Offline buellwinkle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 587
    • View Profile
    • Network Camera  Critic
    • Email
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2013, 11:56:15 pm »
Stickman, you are right, even though I run 64 bit windows as I have to, I didn't realize there's two Internet Exploders, one in the Program Files directorty (64 bit) and another in the Program Files (x86) directory (32 bit) and the icon and the start folder are running the 32 bit version. I ran the 64 bit IE version for fun and it properly installs the ActiveX controls, but no video displays.
For network camera articles and reviews, visit my blog at
http://www.[NOT ALLOWED TO LINK TO THIS SITE].com

Offline Promod117

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2013, 12:50:46 am »
Here is an article I found that talks about this.  I thought you had to specify 32bit if running the 64bit version of Windows but in IE, that isn't the case.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ieinternals/archive/2009/05/29/q-a-64-bit-internet-explorer.aspx

Offline reddawg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2013, 01:15:01 am »
If the ActiveX control is 32-bit, which most are, it will not work with IE 9 64-bit version. You will need to run IE 9 32-bit, which should be the default on a Windows 64-bit OS like Vista and Windows 7.

Most IP camera ActiveX controls are not signed and registered with Microsoft, so you will need to lessen your IE security in order to install them. Once installed, it is highly recommended to reset IE security back to its default.

When installing your camera's ActiveX control do the following:

1) Disable your Antivirus/Security software. Some AV programs like Norton can block  (May or may not be necessary)
    certain type of system changes to the registry.

2) Run Internet Explorer 32-bit browser on 64-bit Windows PCs.

3) Make the following security changes in IE -> Internet Options

   a) Open IE 32-bit browser
   b) Goto Internet Options -> Security tab
   c) Select "Internet" as your zone.
   d) Click "Custom level" and Enable the following:

       Download unsigned ActiveX controls (not secure)
       Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe for scripting (not secure)

    e) Click OK twice.

    f) Install your Camera's ActiveX control from Internet Explorer (32-bit) version

    g) After successfully installing the ActiveX control, go back into IE Internet Options -> Security tab
        and select "Internet Zone" and then click "Default level" or follow the same steps above but
        select "disable" for the two ActiveX control settings.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2013, 01:20:08 am by reddawg »
OS: Windows 7 x64bit SP1, Blue Iris v3.49.06
PC: Dell Vostro 260, Intel Core i5-2400 Quad Core @ 3.10GHz, 8GB Memory, 500GB SATA HD
Cams: Dahua IPC-HFW2100 1280x960@10fps, Gadspot GS1600 640x480@15fps, Loftek Specter 640x480@10fps, Edimax IC-3030iWn 1280x1024@10fps

Stickman

  • Guest
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2013, 01:50:39 am »
Also...if you are running W8...you will need to look at this:

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=3435.0

at least to get the Dahua Web UI to work.....IE10 is more secure and just won't let the out-dated webcab to install correctly.  I have it working fine now by doing what the thread states. Hopefully Dahua will update their firmware someday to fix this. 

Offline tng5737

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2013, 05:30:15 am »
FYI, I had a couple of cams which had at one time worked with w8 but then I couldn't connect to them anymore!   I could access the cams from other pc's and tablet but my w8 stubbornly refused to connect.   After pulling my hair out for a while (a precious commodity in my old age), I discovered that I had to use netsh to delete the arp table entries.   After that I could access the cams once again! 
Asus Z87 Pro w. i7-4770K, 32gb; Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 w. AMD 8-CORE FX-8350; 32gb; BI3; 4-HFW2100; 4-HFW3200S; 1-FI8918

Offline N6VMO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Active X or webrec.cab install...
« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2013, 08:00:20 pm »
Thanks everyone.

I did not get a chance to look at or play around with 32bit IE last night. But, I did manage to get Blue Iris running.
Now I can view my IP cam at work via BI. Tonight I will purchase the full version of BI and get the other camera running too.  If I get time I will mess with IE again.

More experimentation tonight. Keep the good suggestions coming.

« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 09:44:01 pm by N6VMO »
2 x ESC-HFW2100 1.3MP - 720p and 2 x Swann 2MP OUTDOOR Bullet IP PoE Cameras.
Cisco Catalyst Express 520-8pc-K9 PoE Switch.  Blue Iris Video Security and Webcam Software. HP ENVY H8-1534 Desktop, AMD FX-6200 Hexa-Core 3.8GHz, 10GB DDR3, 1.5TB SATA. Tripp-Lite Smart1500LCD UPS.

 

Mobile Theme