Advertisment:

Author Topic: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams  (Read 14833 times)

Offline Stickman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« on: March 17, 2014, 11:34:03 pm »
Thought I would share some info on the junction box and plate adapter that Empire sells. They work very nice where you don't want to drill a 1.12" hole for the large cat5 end. The pigtail will fit inside the junction box. They are well made from cast aluminum and come with all the needed screws and gaskets. I have included some pics with dimensions in case you want to see if they will fit other brands. Not sure what the cost is but I do know all of the accessories are 20% off through March.










Dedicated BI System: 
I5-3570K @ 3.4GHz 16GB Ram  
Windows 10 Pro 64bit                                
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H Intel HD 4000 Graphics
Running 15 cameras  approx.  23 megapixel

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2014, 12:50:51 am »
Forgive the lameness, do you have a link for that or a model number?
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline Stickman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2014, 01:10:30 am »
Forgive the lameness, do you have a link for that or a model number?

http://empiresecuritycameras.com/

click on the 2014 catalog.   BE SURE if you order to ask for the deep box. They make a box that is about 1" deep but is not big enough to conceal the pigtail. Also if you need the adapter plate that goes from 4 hole mount to 3 hole....mention that as well.  When you buy a camera from them then Kyle knows what you need, but if you are just ordering the boxes..be specific  ;D
Dedicated BI System: 
I5-3570K @ 3.4GHz 16GB Ram  
Windows 10 Pro 64bit                                
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H Intel HD 4000 Graphics
Running 15 cameras  approx.  23 megapixel

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2014, 02:01:44 am »
Forgive the lameness, do you have a link for that or a model number?

http://empiresecuritycameras.com/

click on the 2014 catalog.   BE SURE if you order to ask for the deep box. They make a box that is about 1" deep but is not big enough to conceal the pigtail. Also if you need the adapter plate that goes from 4 hole mount to 3 hole....mention that as well.  When you buy a camera from them then Kyle knows what you need, but if you are just ordering the boxes..be specific  ;D


Sweeeet, thanks!
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline lulu5kamz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2014, 02:04:27 am »
I found a similar sized junction box at Home Depot. The label on them say they are sized 1/2" x 3/4" Junction Box by CANTEX. They are priced at $6.53 USA. Looks very similar to the one pictured.

Edit: The CANTEX are made of grey plastic.

2nd Edit: The CANTEX do NOT have the large center hole as in the picture. It is a solid piece of plastic, so I had to drill the holes needed to mount the camera.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2014, 02:12:17 am by lulu5kamz »

    Advertisement


Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2014, 02:06:11 am »
I found a similar sized junction box at Home Depot. The label on them say they are sized 1/2" x 3/4" Junction Box by CANTEX. They are priced at $6.53 USA. Looks very similar to the one pictured.

I have a lowes and a home depot within 10 minutes so I will also be checking there. :D
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline Outsync

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2014, 06:54:08 am »
Stickman, do you mount the camera on the junction box?
3 Acti D32 / 2 Y-Cam Cube HD 1080p / 1 Foscam 9821w

Offline Stickman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2014, 01:21:49 pm »
Stickman, do you mount the camera on the junction box?

Yes, the box itself is for a 4 hole mount  (dome cams) and the adapter plate fits the 3 hole bullet cams.
Dedicated BI System: 
I5-3570K @ 3.4GHz 16GB Ram  
Windows 10 Pro 64bit                                
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H Intel HD 4000 Graphics
Running 15 cameras  approx.  23 megapixel

Offline Steven6095

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2014, 08:05:34 pm »
Great idea by Empire.

Offline Nugimon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2014, 11:26:57 pm »
How are you running the Cat5 from your house to that if it's not attached to the wall? Do you leave the cat 5 exposed until it gets to the box?

For example a lot of my camera's will be under and eve but it's about 2FT away from the wall. My pig tail on my Lorex HD (Hikvison CD2032) is about 12". So i'm a little short. I was at home depot looking endlessly at the Cantex plastic boxes and the flex tubing and LB bodies trying to find a clean way of running my POE cams since I can't stand messy wires.  I ended up get some 1/2 single gang metal boxes because there are more little parts, elbows, cable clamps, etc for them. Then running the 1/2 grey flex tubing to a LB body for the CAT5 then through to my house. It's a little overkill but I think it will look good. Then I can run 2 cams off the same junction box, by drilling the 1/4" hole at the top where the lid is and just clam shell it shut with a rubber grommet. So basically it's plumbing it for real electrical but for cams.

I would think the IP Cam manufactures should be selling or supplying these types of boxes/enclosures with their cams. It could be a simple clam shell like this below that would enclose the pigtail adapter and your POE cat5 on both ends with some foam or rubber gasket around the cable to keep out moisture. Then you can just secure it with a screw.  I may have to invent something like that if it doesn't exists  :P. That is about in between using electrical tape and the full blown metal/plastic junction boxes. 

http://shoals.com/products/mc3-locking-clamshells/


I

Offline Stickman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2014, 01:27:40 am »
Normally I always mount mine under the eave as well, but the eave should also be open to the attic. If your eaves or soffit have vents then they are open to attic. So in my case when I do use a box, I can just drill a 1/4 hole in soffit and the cat5 comes from the attic through the hole. I install cat5 end and then just make the connection inside the box. I still prefer to drill 1.12" hole and mount them flush for the cleanest look, if at all possible.
Dedicated BI System: 
I5-3570K @ 3.4GHz 16GB Ram  
Windows 10 Pro 64bit                                
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD4H Intel HD 4000 Graphics
Running 15 cameras  approx.  23 megapixel

Offline jeffcams

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2014, 10:44:36 pm »
Just got 2 of there other junction boxes in so thought i would add...
i5 4460 with 8gb PC3 12800
(1) Hikvision DS-2CD2132-i 
(4) Hikvision DS-2CD2332-i
(1) esc3-ip  2mp
(1) esc-ipc1-v  2mp
(1) esc-ipc1  1.3mp
(2) esc4-ip  1mp

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2014, 10:47:35 pm »
What camera is that?
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline jeffcams

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2014, 10:57:06 pm »
the big one is the empire security ipc5-2.0 it has a 2.8~12mm varifocal lens
the small one is the empire security esc4-ip 2.0 with a 3.6 fixed lens

Im really liking the the esc4 due to its tiny size... they all have the same quality picture..
i5 4460 with 8gb PC3 12800
(1) Hikvision DS-2CD2132-i 
(4) Hikvision DS-2CD2332-i
(1) esc3-ip  2mp
(1) esc-ipc1-v  2mp
(1) esc-ipc1  1.3mp
(2) esc4-ip  1mp

Offline jeffcams

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Camera Junction Box for ESC cams
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2014, 11:01:00 pm »
there are 2 different kits there for the ipc5... one is the junction box and one is the wall mount..
The esc4 uses the same junction box that stickman posted, just minus the adapter plate...
i5 4460 with 8gb PC3 12800
(1) Hikvision DS-2CD2132-i 
(4) Hikvision DS-2CD2332-i
(1) esc3-ip  2mp
(1) esc-ipc1-v  2mp
(1) esc-ipc1  1.3mp
(2) esc4-ip  1mp

    Advertisement


 

    Advertisment:

Mobile Theme