Advertisment:

Author Topic: Hikvision region code changer  (Read 27791 times)

Offline CBX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Hikvision region code changer
« on: June 05, 2014, 08:58:43 am »


Hi All

From this point forward I am no longer providing solutions for Hikvision products.

My forum PMs and associated mail address should be considered to be unmonitored.

I've had a few issues with people making silly claims about me or even pretending to be me (email addresses 1 letter different than mine etc).  I don't intend to come back or post in the future - but should that change I can prove I am really CBX if needed.

All the confidentiality I agreed to with various people I worked with still holds of course.

Anyway, thanks for all the kind comments - all the best :)

CBX





Hello all

*** UPDATED February 2015 ***

I have developed a solution to change the region code on any Hikvision camera/DVR/NVR.

I am no longer on cctvforum - do not post or PM me there as I won't see it.  I've rescued and reposted the feedback from people who have used it here:

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=9363.0



I do not think it acceptable for a product to be offered (even for import) that is English when you buy it, and then suddenly Chinese when you want updates/fixes.

This program permanently changes your camera region. Though if you run it again you can change it back and everything is as it was. I have done this just in case there is a future issue from the manufacturer (your serial number remains unchanged).

This product contains no copyrighted code from the manufacturer. I would not offer it if it did.

A few FAQ questions I myself would ask:

Q Does this work with the latest 5.2.5 & 5.2.8 cameras?

Yes.

Q Will this fix the problem where the NVR/iVMS will not see my cameras because of language mismatch?

Yes.

Q Will my device be multi language?

It will give access to all the languages the firmware has so it depends what languages are in the firmware you use.

I am currently supplying files that make your very own multi language 5.2.5 and includes permanent region change.

Q How do I use this?:

There are instructions with the program, but in most circumstances it's just a case of running a batch file (supplied) to make your own custom firmware. Use the firmware in the normal web update page.

Q So after this what firmware/patches/hacks do i need?:

Language and day of week will be English whatever firmware you have or whatever firmware that currently exists you put on. Should be fine for future ones though obviously depends on what manufacturer does.

No need for manual patches etc.

Q Change I change the serial number, mac address, other parameters?:


No. I prefer to respect HikV as much as possible so this is not currently offered whilst there is no justifiable reason.

Q What about if I put old or new firmware on?:

This is different to the camera region setting. So no problem - region is still what you changed it to.

It's theoretically possible that the manufacturer could releases updates in the future which cross reference your serial,mac address with the region they think it should be, but you can always revert the change before upgrading should that be needed.

At that point the issue of changing such parameters could be revisited.

Q How does this work?:

You send me your serial number(s) and I send you the program. The program is locked to your serials only. Only 1 program needed for all serials. Some of the computational work is done my side so the program on your camera doesn't have to do much and also renders the program useless if shared (which is prohibited and you agree not to if you purchase it from me).

Q How safe is this?:

Tested on my cameras repeatedly, and a few early adopters. Many many people since.

I have made the program with safety in mind and a number of checks are performed first. The program can always be run again to put the region code back to what it was. Anyone who promises a program with no bugs should not be believed or trusted, but it has been tested a lot in different conditions and error handling scenarios.

Though of course, as with any flash operation there is some risk especially if there is a power cut in the seconds it takes to run. You accept this risk, though it is hoped that if there is interest in the product, people will post indicating all is OK. There's lots of people who are happy - check this thread and a similar thread on ipcamtalk.com for feedback.

Q How do I know what changes are made. You could be a hacker or something.

- Well, no files on the camera are changed. People who are knowledgeable can verify this for themselves.

- Nothing is sent over the network from the camera (again clever people can check).

- This would be illegal and I'd be arrested

- This is not how I work or who I am, please see some of the other work I have done and shared elsewhere in the past (including language patches) in the past to draw your own conclusion.

You can always change your pw/ip/personal info etc to something silly before running the program, and put back afterwards if you like. Or simply wait for others to try first. It wouldn't take much for any such issue to be posted by people and my reputation destroyed

Q What if I pay you and it doesn't work?

The tool creates a support log, which you can send to me and I can find out what the problem was. This is not automatic - you have to send it to me. I offer support with this product as part of the deal. If I cannot resolve the problem using your support log and working with you I hereby agree to refund you. The support log is encrypted (it contains your serial, mac address but not IP or password) for your privacy when sending.

Q What if something goes wrong?

Send me the support log. If all else fails and in the very unlikely case that the camera does not boot, and TFTP does not restore functionality, I can likely provide a solution using recovery firmware that I have made which can be applied via TFTP. The camera has a recovery mode which is not affected. Again, there are no extra charges involved.

Q Other models/OEM?

PM me to discuss.

Q I don't want my serials or information shared. Will you keep it private?

Yes, absolutely 100%. In my country we have Data Protection laws which obligate me to do so without your consent.

Q Why are you charging for this?

I am unemployed and have done a lot of work on this. I need to fund more dev work (and pay for food!).

Q I don't need this. I'll just use patches or some other hack.

That's not a question. But that's totally fine - enjoy your cameras in the way that works best for you


Please PM me for other questions.

You may not share or modify the program I give you, and you must agree to a confidentiality agreement.

Thanks for your time. Hope this is useful to some.

Pricing to be discussed via confidential PM.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2015, 12:09:24 am by CBX »
I am no longer providing solutions for Hikvision products.

My forum PMs and associated mail address should be considered to be unmonitored.

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=9566.0

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2014, 01:33:10 pm »
What about when I get new Chinese cameras, will you add in support for those, or do I have to pay again?
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline CBX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2014, 01:52:32 pm »
This product is priced and programmically formulated according to the number of cameras.  So the price is different for just one camera than if you have 50.

So if you buy product for one camera, you pay for one camera.  It will not work on any other camera in the world.

If you want, you can pay for 2 cameras, even if you only have 1, and ask for the other one when you get it.  I'll send you product for camera you have and then I'll need to know the serial of the new camera when you get it.  For your convenience I'll send you a new program that covers both of them so you don't have to keep track of which program covers which camera.

Sorry if my FAQ wasn't clear on that one - I've now updated it.

Thanks for your question :)
« Last Edit: June 05, 2014, 03:38:44 pm by CBX »
I am no longer providing solutions for Hikvision products.

My forum PMs and associated mail address should be considered to be unmonitored.

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=9566.0

Offline dkreviews

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2014, 06:45:50 pm »
Sounds interesting, but you know I am skeptic... Has anyone on this forum tried this?

Offline CBX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2014, 07:18:22 pm »
Due to confidentiality, I can't name anyone at all.

A significant number of checks are made before any changes to the camera occur.  At the first sign of any issue, the program will abort and write out a support log and error return code.

EDIT:

I have given a free trial to 2 members of this forum who graciously agreed to be public testers.  I've already had positive feedback from 1, who has told me they plan to post to this thread with a review, and also an assurance that they will unbiasedly post any problems.

EDIT 2:

Thanks Bink - I appreciate your review and also the feedback you emailled to me.  :)
« Last Edit: June 06, 2014, 02:04:46 pm by CBX »
I am no longer providing solutions for Hikvision products.

My forum PMs and associated mail address should be considered to be unmonitored.

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=9566.0

    Advertisement


Offline dkreviews

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2014, 08:16:48 pm »
I will give it a shot.

Offline Bink

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2014, 01:44:33 pm »
I used this program and it works as advertised—just run, reboot and, boom, English.  Everything works like it did before, except everything is in English and not Chinese—there’s not much else to it.

While I can’t vouch for its effects on future firmware updates at this time (obviously), I will try to update this post/thread when something newer than 5.1.6 comes out.  Also, if someone is concerned something nefarious is done by this program, I work in IT for a living and use NetFlow (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NetFlow) logging at home and no suspicious traffic has originated from the camera—and if I find this not to be the case, I assure you I will update this post/thread.  If anyone has any questions regarding this program, please feel free to send me a Personal Message.

Thank you for your significant and continued efforts here CBX.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2014, 01:49:20 pm by Bink »

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2014, 02:20:00 pm »
I used this program and it works as advertised—just run, reboot and, boom, English.  Everything works like it did before, except everything is in English and not Chinese—there’s not much else to it.

While I can’t vouch for its effects on future firmware updates at this time (obviously), I will try to update this post/thread when something newer than 5.1.6 comes out.  Also, if someone is concerned something nefarious is done by this program, I work in IT for a living and use NetFlow (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NetFlow) logging at home and no suspicious traffic has originated from the camera—and if I find this not to be the case, I assure you I will update this post/thread.  If anyone has any questions regarding this program, please feel free to send me a Personal Message.

Thank you for your significant and continued efforts here CBX.

So where did you get a copy of that, did you gank it from work? I know netflow is not cheap, unless you are just high rollin over there. :)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline Bink

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2014, 04:30:06 pm »
So where did you get a copy of that, did you gank it from work? I know netflow is not cheap, unless you are just high rollin over there. :)
Nah. While I consider this off-topic, I tend to purchase business-class equipment for my home (hence the Hikvision) as it tends to be more reliable and I spend less time troubleshooting things. I also make use of open-source NetFlow reporting software (nfdump/NfSen) and this is free.

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2014, 05:30:57 pm »
So where did you get a copy of that, did you gank it from work? I know netflow is not cheap, unless you are just high rollin over there. :)
Nah. While I consider this off-topic, I tend to purchase business-class equipment for my home (hence the Hikvision) as it tends to be more reliable and I spend less time troubleshooting things. I also make use of open-source NetFlow reporting software (nfdump/NfSen) and this is free.
Interesting, I'll look into that, I like how a lot of network stuff seems to be BSD. :D
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline CBX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2014, 12:16:04 pm »
I've now developed this to work in Raptor series 4 (in addition to series 2). Tested sucessfully.

That's DS-2CD4xxx e.g. DS-2CD4124 DS-2CD4032 etc
I am no longer providing solutions for Hikvision products.

My forum PMs and associated mail address should be considered to be unmonitored.

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=9566.0

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2014, 01:18:05 pm »
I've now developed this to work in Raptor series 4 (in addition to series 2). Tested sucessfully.

That's DS-2CD4xxx e.g. DS-2CD4124 DS-2CD4032 etc

4 series are a little pricey for my blood, how many do you have?
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline CBX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2014, 05:59:06 pm »
I don't have any - I developed the solution for a customer with DS-2CD4xxx 's who wanted his cameras to be English version and not Chinese anymore.
I am no longer providing solutions for Hikvision products.

My forum PMs and associated mail address should be considered to be unmonitored.

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=9566.0

Offline hmjgriffon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2014, 08:42:14 pm »
I don't have any - I developed the solution for a customer with DS-2CD4xxx 's who wanted his cameras to be English version and not Chinese anymore.


Noice, I guess he was the guinea pig. :)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-IS (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2632F-I (x1)
Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (x1)

Much...much more to come, I am addicted!

Offline CBX

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Hikvision region code changer
« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2014, 11:43:58 pm »
Noice, I guess he was the guinea pig. :)

A large number of checks and a fair few dry runs were made before any changes were made to his equipment.  Safety first.
I am no longer providing solutions for Hikvision products.

My forum PMs and associated mail address should be considered to be unmonitored.

http://www.cam-it.org/index.php?topic=9566.0

    Advertisement


 

    Advertisment:

Mobile Theme